Modern technology gives us many things.

AirDrop has changed a lot in iOS 17, so check your iPhone's settings


Apple released iOS 17.1 to add to the slew of new features we have in iOS 17. The new additions include some major changes to AirDrop, Apple's short-range wireless technology that lets people quickly share files between Apple devices and new features are enabled by default.

These updates affect the way you (and your family members) share information, so it's important to know what's different and how you can turn off the new feature if you want to keep everything on you locked.

Το AirDrop συνεχίζει να είναι ένας εξαιρετικά βολικός και αξιόπιστος τρόπος κοινής χρήσης αρχείων και δεδομένων μεταξύ συσκευών Apple, αλλά υπάρχουν προβλήματα ασφάλειας και απορρήτου που συνοδεύονται από αυτό και τα οποία πρέπει να είστε στην .

NameDrop

A NameDrop transfer must be initiated on both ends. Credit: Apple

The first new feature in AirDrop is NameDrop, which takes the hassle out of sharing contact information: If you meet someone new who also has an iPhone, all you need to do is unlock your respective headphones and tap them together to a message appears share contact information.

When prompted, you can tap Download only to receive the new contact information or Share to get their contact information and send yours back in return. Note that this only works for sharing information about a new contact—you can't use it to update information you already have about someone.

It is of course important to stay up to date with these features, but don't panic news report (μερικά από τα οποία έχουν κοινοποιηθεί από τα τοπικά αστυνομικά τμήματα) σχετικά με αγνώστους που αρπάζουν τα στοιχεία επικοινωνίας των παιδιών. Τίποτα δεν κοινοποιείται αυτόματα: Η προτροπή στην οθόνη πρέπει να γίνει αποδεκτή με μη αυτόματο τρόπο και το iPhone πρέπει να ξεκλειδωθεί με , or PIN, to make anything happen.

It is true that NameDrop is enabled by default once you install iOS 17.1 update on your phone. If you'd rather not have this enhanced contact sharing feature turned on, open Settings and tap General and AirDropand disable it Bringing Devices Together toggle switch.

ή χρήση εγγύτητας

If you want, you can turn off proximity sharing.
If you want, you can turn off proximity sharing. Realization: David Nield

Next is Proximity Sharing in AirDrop, which works like NameDrop but for photos and other file types, not contact information. Essentially, it removes a few steps from the normal AirDrop process – just bring two iPhones close together if you want to share something between them.

First head to the Photos or Files app and get whatever you want to share on the screen. Then, if you hold the top of your iPhone next to the top of someone else's iPhone and they're both unlocked, you'll see a message on the screen to Share whatever it is — tap it to start the transfer.

To download, the person you're sharing something with must tap Accept prompt on the screen, as they would with a normal AirDrop transfer. The feature cannot be used to start pushing photos, videos, or any other content to someone else's iPhone without their permission.

Disabling this feature is the same as for NameDrop—go to the Settings panel on your iPhone, select General afterward AirDropand turn off Bringing Devices Together. AirDrop itself can be turned on or off from the same screen, but Proximity Sharing works independently—you can turn it on even if AirDrop is turned off.

shareplay

Apple Music is one of the apps that have SharePlay enabled.
Apple Music is one of the apps that have SharePlay enabled. Realization: David Nield

The latest feature that Apple has enabled for two iPhones that are close together is SharePlay: This is a feature that means you can do things together with another person on your iPhones. Maybe you want to watch an episode of a TV show in sync, for example, or listen to a certain song together.

First, you need to be in an app that supports SharePlay—right now, these are mostly Apple apps like Apple Music and Apple TV. Over time, third-party developers have the opportunity to incorporate the same technology into their own apps, so you can use the SharePlay feature more widely.

All you need to do is open the content you want to share—like a song, video, or multiplayer game that works with Apple Game Center—and then bring your iPhone close to a another. Puncture shareplay on your screen and then there is a confirmation message on the other iPhone that must also be accepted.

You can access SharePlay without bringing your phones together—for example, if you're on a FaceTime call with someone—but the proximity option was added in iOS 17.1. AirDrop must be enabled to work via phone proximity and you can do this via AirDrop under General in Settings. SharePlay can't be turned off system-wide, but you can turn it off in FaceTime by opening Settings and selecting FaceTime afterward shareplay.





VIA: popsci.com

Follow TechWar.gr on Google News

Απάντηση