Modern technology gives us many things.

The WhatsApp desktop app now lets you send self-destructing photos and videos


Η is rolling out a View Once feature on WhatsApp on desktop and web allows users to send time-sensitive content.

The update was initially discovered by WABetaInfo as o logical giant has yet to officially announce it. Looking at WABetaInfo's report, it's basically the exact same feature on mobile. WhatsApp added View Once to its smartphone app in 2022 as a new privacy tool. Photos or videos sent to contacts this way cannot be saved. Once the recipient views the file, it will be gone forever. This ensures that sensitive material is never viewed by outside parties, shared with others, or at risk of being obtained by a bad actor. Apparently, this was highly requested, as WABetaInfo claims that people complained about an "inability to send view messages once" on PC. It seems Meta heard the outcry, though it took the company over a year to respond.

Vital details

There are some small details you need to know.

Recipients have 14 days to open the medium, otherwise it will be automatically deleted, according to the WhatsApp Help Center. The other person cannot take screenshots of the temporary content, but only if they have the latest version of WhatsApp installed. It is possible for others to take screenshots of a View Once file if they are running outdated software. As a result, the company strongly recommends sending content to trusted individuals. There are plans to fix the privacy gap, however there is no word on when Meta will address this issue.

Please note that you cannot send multiple temporary images at once. You must send each file one by one. Furthermore, as pointed out by Windows Central, you can re-watch temporary videos "as often as you like", but you have to stay in the interface. If you click on the rep prematurely or leave the window, you will lose access.

The update will be available to both Windows and macOS users. WABetaInfo states that the update is rolling out in waves, so only a select group has access to it right now. We recommend keeping an eye out for the patch when it arrives.

How to send content View Once

Sending a View Once photo is easy. After launching WhatsApp on the surface s and select a conversation, click the attachment icon next to the text box, and then select an image. Above the send button is the number one inside a disappearing circle. Clicking this icon activates View Once mode. Send the image to someone and it will be deleted the moment they close it.

WhatsApp on the web has a different layout, but luckily the process is exactly the same.

(Image: Future)

While we have you, be sure to follow along TechRadar's official WhatsApp channel to get our latest reviews sent straight to your phone.



VIA: TechRadar.com/

Follow TechWar.gr on Google News

Απάντηση